Reviews

9.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.6
Comfort
9.3
Property location
9.3
Facilities
9.3
Staff
9.8
Value
9.6

Reviews

    Travellers
    nz

    Review score

    9.6
    22 May 2018

    Rustic comfort and charm

    A rustic little cottage set among the trees and neighbouring a bike trail (with free access to bikes to enjoy the trail). It had everything we needed and was comfortable and warm.
    Suzie Tillman
    ca

    Review score

    10
    25 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Katrin
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    22 October 2017

    Lovely cottage in Martin's River, Mahone Bay

    I only found the bathroom a bit narrow, but the wonderful shower made up for this.
    Very comfortable little house, easy to reach and easy distance to Mahone Bay. We were sorry to stay only two nights before we left for Germany and so had not really time to explore a bit more of the area and e.g use the bikes offered.
    patricia
    ca

    Review score

    7.9
    26 September 2017

    Great place to stay to unwind and relax.

    Very central location, everything we wanted to see was within an hour away. Laundry facilities available. Jay the owner had everything we needed in this bungalow, wifi was excellent.
    Darlene
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    7 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Martine
    ca

    Review score

    10
    2 September 2017

    Great get-away. Would have stayed longer!

    This little house is quaint, bicycle trail right out the back door, quiet and private. Jay is a wonderful warm host. We highly recommend this little paradise!
    Klaas Jan
    nl

    Review score

    8.3
    14 August 2017

    Great location, well equipped cottage and friendly host.

    Nothing
    Location
    Karen
    ca

    Review score

    10
    28 July 2017
    The hospitality of our host was exceptional. A lovely place to relax and rest. The location was central to many sites we wished to visit.
    SUSAN
    us

    Review score

    10
    5 May 2017

    Lovel place to stay

    This is a very small issue. When we arrived, we had no cable reception on the TV. Since there is also a DVD player there as well, we "fiddled" with it for a while. Then realizing it was probably the same as at home, we just unplugged the cable box and plugged it back in after a minute. VOILA! On came the cable. And with Boston channels, so we could catch up with what was going on at home.
    The house was adorable. We arrived so late due to our flight being delayed several hours. when we finally got there, the house was all set up for us, the heat was on, and it was lit inside so we could find our way around. We were so happy to see it was so clean and accommodating after the drive in from Halifax in very bad fog. Jay sent great directions for us, since it is a bit off the road. We found that keeping an eye on the numbers helped quite a bit. The house has two bedrooms, one with a queen size bed and one with a twin. Great for a small family. It also had a small kitchen and living room area, with cable TV and free wifi. The hosts were great, checked in on us to be sure we had everything we needed. There were more than enough towels and all the amenities you would expect in a hotel or inn. There was some of the best coffee there and an assortment of teas. We found some water in the fridge. All in all a great place to stay
    Heather
    ca

    Review score

    10
    21 August 2016

    A delightful spot to unpack our bags and explore the picturesque countryside!

    There were all the amenities stated plus many extras including a bottle of wine, great coffee and tea, stocked cupboards, bottled water and more. Beds were comfortable and the whole atmosphere was delightful with original art work and other lovely touches.
    Louella
    ca

    Review score

    10
    14 August 2016
    Comfortable and well equipped cottage. Great location. Perfect for 2 to 3 people. Owner was very helpful! Highly recommend for your stay in the Mahone Bay Area.
    Victor
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    11 August 2016

    Cozy cottage

    Would of liked to meet the owner...
    Very well organized! It has everything you would need and more. Bottle of wine on the table, coffee, tea, herbal tea, coffeemate, sugar, condiments in the fridge, bottled water, etc... Touring bikes in the shed if needed... Extra blankets, towels, sheets... Well maintained... Cozy cottage. Beautiful decorations and furniture. Patio set and bbq on back patio. Fully equiped kitchen.
    Delores
    ca

    Review score

    10
    6 July 2016

    The perfect accommodation.

    Perfect guesthouse in a quiet secluded area. The décor was incredible with added little touches to make it like a home rather than a hotel/motel. The owner has gone out of his way to have everything we may need available. We would have liked to stay longer. Felt like home.
    Karlis Kristofs
    mx

    Review score

    10
    20 May 2018

    Great cottage apt near Oak Island & Mahone Bay

    Cleaning fee a bit high especially for someone just spending one or two nights. However, this would be a wonderful base for a family to use as a base while exploring the area for a week The second bedroom only large enough for one small person. No door or space for clothes The cabin is totally equipped with everything you would have in your home. Owner has to be careful not to over due it to the point of clutter. Eg. One veggie peeler is enough. No need for 4.
    Beautiful Mahone Bay. One of the best family seafood restaurants in Maritimes Island View located 3 km away.
    ca

    Review score

    10
    25 October 2017
    The house was lovely and comfortable with everything we needed. Jay was very welcoming.
    Charles
    us

    Review score

    10
    15 August 2017

    Very enjoyable

    The smoke alarm was too sensitive....went off frequently when cooking anything.
    The back deck was our favorite spot.. the entire place was very well equipped
    Debbie
    ca

    Review score

    10
    10 June 2017

    Sweet Cottage in a Great Location !

    Trip hazzard to small bedroom by having a different level flooring and also no railing on back deck
    Love the area Privacy in back deck great ! Access to trail in back and availability to bikes Very cozy interior
    Diane
    ca

    Review score

    10
    11 October 2016

    The perfect place for tranquility and comfort.

    Nothing not to like!
    We loved everything about this cottage. Booking was easy, directions were excellent and the owner was lovely. He provided us with a lot of "extras" that aren't typical of guest rentals and we especially enjoyed the Just Us French roast coffee and Jost vino! The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you would need, beds are comfortable and the guest home is tastefully decorated. Having access to a beautiful trail in the backyard and use of bicycles was an amazing bonus and made for a most enjoyable Thanksgiving weekend break. We will be back and would highly recommend this rental.
    Susan
    ca

    Review score

    10
    21 September 2016

    Everything and More

    Located right off a rail trIl, and minutes from both Mahone Bay and Chester, this guest house was very tastefully and carefully decorated. Clear instructions and amenities were many. Great Wi-Fi! Had a kitchen that was completely set up for you to cook great local food. Jay thought of everything leaving hot and cold beverages, condiments, soaps and delightful books on local history and culinary information - all the little extras and more. A private gem of a place.
    Matthew
    bm

    Review score

    9.2
    4 August 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews